top of page

Our Districts

A Scouting District is a geographical area of the BSA local Council, determined by the Council Executive Board. District leaders mobilize resources to ensure the growth and success of Scouting units within the District’s territory. The purpose of the District is to work through chartered  organizations and community groups to organize and support successful units. The end result of effective District support is more and more youth members receiving a better and better program.  All Districts are responsible for carrying out four main functions: Membership, Finance, Program, and Unit Service. Each month, the Districts hold a Roundtable Meeting and a Committee Meeting. Gamehaven Council has three Districts: Hiawatha, Sugarloaf, and Wakpaota.


The objectives of Roundtable meetings are to provide leaders with program ideas, information on policy and events, and training opportunities. It is a forum for sharing experiences and enjoying fun and fellowship with other Scout leaders. When skillfully executed, the Roundtable experience will inspire, motivate, and enable unit leaders to provide a stronger program for their Scouts.


The purpose of Committee Meetings is to build momentum, provide group continuity, ensure good coordination, and make specific assignments to committee members.


The District Commissioner reports on the special needs of units and requests the help of operating committees to meet those needs.


The Hiawatha District is made up of the following cities in Southeastern Minnesota. The District also serves Olmsted and Western Fillmore Counties. 

  • Byron

  • Chatfield

  • Dover

  • Eyota

  • Rochester

  • Spring Valley

  • Stewartville


The Sugar Loaf District is made up of the following cities in Southeastern Minnesota

  • Altura

  • Dakota

  • Elgin

  • Harmony

  • Lanesboro

  • Lewiston

  • Mabel

  • Millville

  • Plainview

  • Preston

  • Rollingstone

  • Rushford

  • St. Charles

  • Wabasha

  • Winona


The Wakpaota District is made up of the following cities in Southeastern Minnesota. The district also serves the counties of Goodhue, Steele, Dodge and Wabasha.

  • Blooming Prairie

  • Cannon Falls

  • Dodge Center

  • Hayfield

  • Kasson

  • Kenyon

  • Lake City

  • Mazeppa

  • Medford

  • Oronoco

  • Owatonna

  • Pine Island

  • Red Wing

  • Wanamingo

  • Zumbrota

bottom of page